The Maritime Industry Authority (MARINA) has opened 19 new Roll-on /Roll-off (RoRo) missionary routes to service even areas of small traffic volume. The move is meant to upgrade domestic shipping, maximize usage of the nautical highways, one of the eight priority programs of the 10-year Maritime Industry Development Plan (MIDP).

The new routes are: Basco, Batanes – Currimao, IlocosNorte; Batangas City – San Jose, Occidental Mindoro;  San Juan, Batangas – Abra de Ilog, Occidental Mindoro;  Real, Quezon – Polillo Island, Quezon; Lucena, Quezon – Odiongan, Romblon; Lucena, Quezon  – Buyabod, Marinduque; Lucena, Quezon – Romblon, Romblon; Lucena, Quezon – Masbate City.

Maasin, Southern Leyte – Ubay, Bohol; San Narciso, Quezon – San Pascual, Masbate; Pantao, Albay – San Pascual, Masbate; Calbayog City, Samar – Cataingan, Masbate; Taytay, Palawan – Cuyo, Palawan; Cuyo, Palawan – San Jose de Buenavista, Antique; Oslob, Cebu – Dumaguete, Negros Oriental; Punta Engano, Mactan Island, Cebu – Jetafe, Bohol; Poro, Camotes, Cebu – Isabel, Leyte; Lipata, Surigao del Norte – Dapa, Surigao del Norte; and the19th route , Siaton, Negros Oriental – Dipolog City.

Shipping companies may do well in the new routes within Road RoRo Terminal System (RRTS), a seamless stretch of roads and ports to improve inter-island transportation, enhance tourism, and expand regional markets.

MARINA defines a RoRo missionary route as one or more direct links covering two RoRo-capable ports that have no existing shipping service due to geographic limitation and/or absence of market viability.

Shipping company which operate there enjoy protection of investment for five years and 50% discount on fees on application and renewal of ship licenses, certificates and permits.

MARINA also awaits suggestions on new routes to open for the further development of the domestic shipping industry.