Rear Admiral Elson Hermogino took from OIC Rear Admiral Joel Garcia the command flag of the Coast Guard (PCG), the third of the uniformed, security services of the country (the Armed Forces-AFP and the National Police-PNP being the other two).

Transport Sec. Arthur P. Tugade presided at the ceremonial rites held January 15th at the PCG national headquarters in Port Area, Manila;

Hermogino is the 27th PCG Commandant, vowed to do his best, continue developments initiated by Garcia, assuring a proactive PCG under his watch.

“Let us all deliver service to the Filipino people that exudes commitment and dedication that we must never fail the expectations of our countrymen.”

Tugade thanked Garcia on PCG accomplishments during his 13-months term as OIC and asked PCG personnel to unite and work hard for the organization.

Pres. Duterte signed Hermogino appointment January 4th.


Of the sea.

Hermogino was born in San Carlos City, Pangasinan, reared Muñoz, Nueva Ecija, began a military career in 1981 with entry at the Phil Military Academy (PMA), graduating with the Sandiwa Class of 1985.

He pursued post graduate studies at World Maritime University in Malmo, Sweden, earning a Master in Maritime Administration in 1996.

He rose from the ranks, serving in various PCG stations and regional commands in Bicol, Northern Mindanao and Southern Tagalog, even commanding major units as the MEPCOM, CG Fleet, and Maritime Safety Services.

Hermogino is be-medalled, including the most coveted Command-at-Sea Badge for the command of primary PCG search-and-rescue vessels as the BRP Batangas (SARV-004), BRP Romblon (SARV 3503) and seven others with the Navy.

He also holds Coast Guard Legion of Honor and Ribbon (Degree of Maginoo), Outstanding Achievement Medal and Ribbon, Distinguished Service Medal Medal and Ribbon, Gawad sa Kaunlaran Medal, Merit Medal, Commendation Medal, Search and Rescue Medal, Long Service Medal, Visayan Campaign Medal & Ribbon, and  Civic Action Medal.

Hermogino is married to Rutchel, the couple blessed with Reiner John, Renson and Reizels.