A Filipino diplomat was honored with the Lifetime Award at the 2017 Seatrade Maritime Awards-Asia last June 23rd at the Intercontinental hotel in Hong Kong.


Ambassador Carlos C. Salinas himself accepted the recognition rooted on being Phil Transmarine Carriers (PTC) Group founder and chairman of this global maritime operations based in Manila.


This tribute adds an international dimension to His Excellency’s credentials. Two governments officially bestowed to him special honors: the Philippine government, the Order of Sikatuna, Rank of Grand Cross); the Spanish government, the Gran Cruz dela Orden de Isabel La Catolica and now the international maritime community.


The Seatrade award recognizes Ambassador Salinas dedication to the development of the Philippine maritime industry over the last five decades, his pioneering efforts for the advancement of Filipino maritime professionals, his contributions to the country’s leadership in the global shipping industry.


Earlier, Amb. Salinas received the TIMONEL award the Phil Maritime Industry Authority (MARINA), the highest granted to private individuals for services rendered to government.


The Dept of Transportation and Communications cited him for the promotion of Phil overseas shipping, his assistance in the establishment of the headquarters of the IMO Regional Presence for Technical Cooperation in East Asia.


In 1992, King Harald V of Norway, conferred upon Mr. Salinas, the Royal Order of Merit with Rank of Commander for contributions to the growth and development of Philippine-Norwegian maritime relations. In 2006, Mr. Salinas was cited as the Most Inspiring Maritime Service Provider Entrepreneur Award by then Phil President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, for outstanding contributions to the development of the Philippine maritime industry.


He was honored by Lloyd’s Ship Manager of London with a Lifetime Achievement and Leadership Excellence Award for an illustrious career in shipping in 2009; followed by a Special Lifetime Achievement and Leadership Award by the Filipino Shipowners Association (FSA), both specially meaningful coming from his peers and was conferred the Presidential Medal of Merit by the Republic of the Philippines through President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, a civilian honor for his achievements in the maritime sector that have enhanced the prestige and honor of the Philippines both domestically and internationally.