The 2017 PTC Seafarer Awards Outstanding Global Maritime Professionals

Philippine Transmarine Carriers (PTC) honored its most outstanding Global Maritime Professionals (GMPs) during the awarding ceremony of the 2017 PTC Seafarer Awards held at the Le Parc Event Hall in Pasay City last June 22, 2017.


The ceremony capped off a six-month long search among PTC’s over 45,000 seafarers and was held in conjunction with the celebrations of the International Maritime Organization’s Day of the Seafarer, hinged on this year’s theme “Seafarers Matter.”


The bi-annual PTC event pays tribute to the exemplary achievements and contributions of its Global Maritime Professionals to the country and the world maritime industry.  First launched in 2012, this year’s Awards recognized PTC GMPs of any rank, onboard and onshore, who were nominated in four categories: Outstanding Performance, Heroism and Bravery, Financial Management and Community Service.


Honored with the PTC-GMP of the Year Award for Outstanding Performance was Bosun Salvador S. Hechanova Jr. of Reederei F. Laeisz G.m.b.H. (RFL) for exceptional seamanship and dependable leadership he has displayed in his 17 years with PTC and his achievements in entrepreneurship.


The officers and crew of four vessels, MV Astrea (Hydroussa Navigation), MV Fermita (Ugland Marine Management), CSCL Manzanillo (Seaspan Shipmanagement) and MV Norstream (Bore)  were recognized with the PTC Bayaning Marino Award for Heroism for extraordinary and valiant efforts in rescue operations.


The PTC Seafarer Entrepreneur Awards were bestowed on Pumpman Serafin T. Bersales Jr. of Ahlers Maritime Services, who currently runs a successful trucking business, and Chief Cook Reynaldo T. Victor of RFL, a hardworking businessman who manages a personalized cake business, baking supplies store, restaurant and a farm.


Chief Cook Joel D. Urma of RFL was named PTC Seafarer of the Year for Community Service for his commendable efforts in the development and promotion of the footwear of Liliw, Laguna.


Also recognized were the officers and crew of Asiatic Neptune from Asiatic Lloyd for Bravery and Heroism category and 3/O April O. Lopez of Lighthouse Shipmanagement (LHSM) for the Financial Management category.


2/O Aristeo O. Zubia of LHSM and Chief Cook Ramon Y. Tonog Jr. of Euronav, recently retired PTC GMPs, were given special commendations for outstanding work in entrepreneurship.